Annual General Meeting 2024 – Awards

It is always good to start the New Year with our Annual General Meeting, setting out our objectives for the Club and activities for the year ahead. The AGM was very well attended with the meeting room pretty much full to capacity. This year, following the committee reports, financial statement and election of the 2024 Committee, the club had two important awards to present.

Dave Sugden memorial Trophy

Dave Sugden G4CGS was a former member of the club and the trophy is in commemoration of his life. The trophy is awarded annually at the discretion of the committee to the member of the Bracknell Amateur Radio Club who has contributed in the most signficant way to club activities or amateur radio in general.

Very sadly, we lost one of our club’s founder members and dear friends early in 2023, Graham G4DDN. Graham had been a key member of the Club from its inception in 1971 and was still serving on the committee at the time of his death. It was a unanimous decsion by the committee that this year’s Trophy should be awarded posthumously to Graham for his dedication to the club.

Graham’s daughter Patricia and her husband Nick kindly joined us at the AGM to accept the award on Graham’s behalf.

Graham is dearly missed by all of us at the club.

Honorary Membership

Honorary membership can be awarded to a member by the Committee when it is felt that their long term or special contribution should be recognised. This year the committee were pleased to award Honorary Membership to founding member and chairman Les Parry G8AMK who has recently rejoined the club in 2023 following a return to the UK. Les was awarded a framed certificate to mark the award.

Les G8AMK being presented Honorary membership by our Chairman Steve G4AUC